Apply now! Ruggero Bertani European Geothermal Innovation Award 2022


  • PUBLISHED: November 29, 2021

Nominations for the Ruggero Bertani European Geothermal Innovation Award 2022 are opened!  This Award is given to companies which have made an outstanding contribution towards the field of geothermal energy in the form of innovative products, scientific research or project initiatives.

Deadline for applications: 23rd December 2021

Follow the hashtag #GeoInnAward2022 to be aware of the last updates on the process (deadlines, nominations…).

The competition is calling for projects, processes, products and initiatives from European companies, entities, or organisations across all value chain and geothermal applications, provided that they are located or have operations within Europe.

Jury of the year:

  • Inga Berre, Professor at University of Bergen, Norway
  • Miklos Antics, EGEC President
  • Javier Urchueguia, Chairman geothermal panel RHC ETIP, UPV, Spain
  • Fausto Batini, Magma Energy, ETIP-DG President, Italy
  • Sandra Kircher, Head of Trade Fairs, Geotherm Expo&Congress, Germany


  • Nominations open: 29/11/2021
  • Closing nominations: 23/12/2021
  • Announce the finalists: 26/01/2022
  • Announce the winner: 17/02/2022 – physical event, at GeoTHERM

The entry can cover a new concept or the development of an existing process or product to provide an innovative and sustainable approach, developed or released within the previous year (01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021). Benefits, improvements and reliability of the innovation should be clearly stated in the entry form. If research projects, to be qualified as innovation, nominees should have technology readiness level (TRL), as defined by the Horizon 2020 Work Programme, of 7 or higher.

Participants can submit one innovation per entity per year. Unsuccessful applications will be eligible for nomination at future awards. Have a look here for more information on eligibility, terms and conditions.

No entry fee is required.


More information about Ruggero Bertani European Geothermal Innovation Award

Hit enter to search or ESC to close